22 Worcester Street
Stourbridge, DY8 1AN England
Book Indian tours and homestays with an expert company based in the UK

What is the “Golden Triangle”?

What is the “Golden Triangle”?

The Golden Triangle describes the equatorial triangle created by the three most popular tourist destinations in North West India; Delhi, Agra and Jaipur. It’s a ‘Golden’ area because of the rich cultural and historical offerings of each city – from the dynamic sprawling metropolis of Delhi; through the desert landscapes of Rajhastan in Jaipur; to the ancient heart of the Mughal empire, Agra, and its crowning jewel, the Taj Mahal, on the banks of the Yamuna river.

Why the “Golden Triangle”?

The Golden Triangle is a classic introduction to India, taking you straight to the heart of the people and culture with the comfort of convenient travel by road and rail.

Delhi marries new and old India in a melting pot of history and commerce. ‘Old Delhi’ was established in 17th century and is still largely Muslim, with historical monuments such as the Red Fort and dusty alleys reminding you of the city’s heritage. In contrast, ‘New Delhi’ is a busy business district, with modern Connaught Place at its centre with boulevards, cafes and boutiques.

Agra is the most obviously touristy point of the triangle. The Taj Mahal draws huge crowds, as well as predatory hawkers. However, this is a small price to pay for seeing one of the wonders of the world which remains one of the most impressive buildings in existence.

Jaipur, also known at the pink city after its red buildings, is the capital of the desert state of Rajhastan. It has a wealth of historical monuments that are a good example of Rajasthani architecture and provides a good springboard to exploring the desert people of India.

See our Golden Triangle Tour